fbpx

Kia ora, my name is Glandre, but the tamariki know me better as Gigi. My partner of 18 years and I, made NZ our home in 2007. Together we have 2 amazing children, Lilly and Josh We found Te Puke almost 3 years ago and just fell in love with the little town. It is such a close knit community and has a homely feel to it.

We are a family that absolutely adores animals !! One of my beliefs is that growing up with and around animals, is so beneficial to a child’s development. Positive relationships with animals can aid in the development of trusting relationships with others. These relationships also help in developing non-verbal communication, compassion and empathy. We have 2 dogs, 3 cats, 5 guinea piggies, 2 birds, fish and 2 little chicks. The tamariki enjoy helping me with everyday tasks such as feeding and grooming the animals, which helps them learn about the responsibilities of owning a pet.

I’ve always known that my purpose in life is to become a teacher, and it wasn’t until I had my own child that I realized my passion is within the early childhood sector. Homebased childcare stood out for me as there are just so many benefits. The amazing relationships that I am able to form with tamariki because of the smaller ratios was the number one reason. Your child’s individual interests and strengths can be closely followed because of the small group sizes. Your child can enjoy every day childhood experiences like going out for spontaneous walks and outings, baking, collecting the mail etc. Your child can attend playgroups and activities like tumble time and mainly music. In 2011, I signed up with JeMMa’s and what a great journey it has been so far. I’m supported by an amazing team that is always there for me, especially when I did my level 4 Open Polytechnic Certificate in Early Childhood Education, they were right by my side.

What can I offer you and your child?

We love going on walks within our community, whether it’s playgrounds or exciting treasure/rock hunts, there is always so much to learn whilst having fun. We frequently visit Tumble Time at Baypark, where the children can socialise with others, explore different equipment and develop their physical development. We attend regular playgroups too, whether it’s through Jemma’s, or an outing to the retirement villages.

When at home, we love music! Dancing and singing are top on our list, along with using musical instruments. I can provide a wide range of activities such as reading books, puzzles, art, blocks, magnets, dress-ups/role-play and so much more. Water and messy play is something we love doing too on a regular basis.

We are a fun, loving and sometimes loud and crazy bunch! If we sound like a good fit, we would love to meet you and your family xx

Skills

Posted on

December 19, 2018