Hi, I’m Deirdre. Raised by both parents and educated in the farm servicing town of Feilding with my brother and sister, I thrived on classical piano and ballet. We shifted to Avondale in 1968 and I started work as a shorthand-typist for a law firm in 1969 lasting 4 years. While working as secretarial shorthand-typist for the managing director of the Kiwi Bacon Co. Ltd for 7 years I met and married Clyde in 1977. We live in Blockhouse Bay and remain happily married with our family of 2 sons and daughter, all now grown up. The eldest is married, while the youngest has recently become engaged. The middle child happily lives in Adelaide, so I really enjoy her annual visits.

Family pets include our 17 year old lady cat and an affectionate 2.5 year old mother cat who, with her 3 equally affectionate kittens of equally friendly temperament, adopted us the day before Christmas 2012. After personally providing intensive care for the very sick one enabling him to survive, they all won my family’s heart as we watched them grow. The JeMMa’s children loved learning the kittens’ names, and becoming acquainted with each one through supervised play. Consequently, interests I share with children include appreciation and care of the natural and living environment of plants, cats, birds and insects (the Monarch butterfly a specialty)!

I first became a caregiver with Barnardo’s in 1993 to benefit my then youngest four year old child and other children whose parents worked or needed a break. In 2008 I became an ‘educarer’ with JeMMa’s and in 2012 completed my National Certificate in Early Childhood Education (Teaching, Level 5) with Open Polytechnic. I get a buzz out of recording each child’s monthly learning story and weekly learning summary. As these accumulate in their personal portfolio I love reading over them to appreciate the learning progress. In my home setting, hanging the washing is an opportunity for developing language, peg counting and learning colours in English and Māori. Community activities include JeMMa’s playgroup, Craigavon Park playground opposite me, walks, and the local library for the children to engage in interactive stories, songs and movement. Pretend play, singing, dancing, drawing, reading, painting, collage, water, messy play, dough and blowing bubbles to be chased and caught – inspire, and reveal, children’s meaningful interests and abilities, and thoughtfulness towards each other.

In my spare time I read, attend movies and socialise with hubby, family and friends. I firmly believe in regular exercise for health and well-being. Hence, combining my appreciation of music and dancing, aerobics has been my favourite form of keeping fit for 30 years, plus walking in our local park and surrounds.

I am available as a part-time educarer. So, for pleasurable learning times for your child, please phone 0800JeMMas for a suitable time to meet me in my home.


Posted on

December 19, 2018